New Year, New Habits

They say Samhain is the start of the solar cycle for those who practice neo-pagan religions. That would make today the first day of the new year, and a great time to start new (good) habits.

This morning, despite feeling sleepy and generally not very light on my feet, I started using a 5K Running app. I actually walked/jogged for 15 minutes (in intervals, of course) and did not cheat. I felt self-conscious in clingy sweatpants and a t-shirt that seemed to hug all the parts of my torso that I absolutely didn’t want anyone to see. The wind pushed my shirt up against my belly with a complete lack of forgiveness, and every footfall felt like an impact -but I did it.

Afterward, I walked back to my apartment complex and tried out the exercise room. There’s a “machine” with weights and various exercises listed out on the sides for working different muscle groups. I did some exercises there, feeling like a complete amateur, and finally walked home feeling accomplished and only a little bit sore.

Next, I sat down at my computer to eat some baked chicken and potatoes while I organized my novel. NaNoWriMo starts today, and I’ve been saying every year that I would participate in order to finish the novel I’ve been working on.

After dusting off 1st draft I had saved in one location, and pulling the additional chapters I had saved in two other locations -I put them all together in Novlr and put them in the correct order. I am officially ready to start (continue) writing.

Although the goal for NaNoWriMo is supposed to be 50,000 words in November, I’m giving myself a goal of 20,000 or so. As I begin today, I already have 35,340 words written and there are at least 20,000 more words needed to finish the story arc as I have it outlined. The sun is shining outside, it’s nearly 70 degrees (in November!?) and I’m ready to feel better than ever.

Leave a Reply

