The Ides of October

Today would have been my father’s 74th birthday.

When he passed away, back in 2007, my life went into a tailspin that brought all my dreams to a grinding halt. I was pregnant with my youngest, Charlie, and struggling to keep my family and school and work balanced. When I lost my dad, I gave up on everything but the kids. Including myself.

Looking back from where I am today, I still miss him a great deal and I’m saddened by the fact that he never got to meet Charlie or see me graduate. I know he’d be proud to tell people that all three of his daughters work in technological fields. He was one of the most motivational people in my life, and he always pushed me to succeed when others told me I had no right to, or that I just plain couldn’t.

Still, I made it to where I am in part because he was my father and in part because I’m stronger than I let myself believe. If he could see me now, I know he’d be proud and supportive and that means a lot.

Thinking about all the things I’ve accomplished also reminds me that I need to set new goals for myself, because I’ve accomplished my degree and found a career that I can excel in. I’ve had time to settle in, and now I need new stars to reach for.

There has never been a better time to focus on my writing as a priority and a life goal. So it begins (again). I #amwriting my novel, and nothing is going to stop me this time.

Leave a Reply

