Name them one by one

Lately I’ve been feeling like our luck is so far past running out, I can barely remember having any.

Then I got some perspective.

Today I sat next to a young woman in a waiting area. Her speech was almost haltingly slow, her droning monotone language had an ebonic accent as if to punctuate our circumstances (which I won’t detail because it will only distract from the point).

She told me that her apartment had burned down, in it’s entirety, and that all she had left was the wallet and the paperwork in her hands. As we waited to approach a clerk at a desk, she went on to describe how her boyfriend had gotten out of a parole violation because their baby died shortly before his hearing. She described how it was her babysitter’s fault that their children had been taken away because they had recieved serious injuries while she was away, and told me about her father’s inability to find work because of his “history”.

All around us were people in various shades of poverty, some were simply down on their luck and some were permanently restricted from being able to make a decent living either physically or mentally. Suddenly my week of need seemed like it wasn’t so bad; a temporarily difficult situation that we would eventually leave behind us. I felt the urge to find out what it would take to volunteer at such a place on those weeks when we aren’t so hard up.

As I was walking into my office later, to work on some things that I’ve been avoiding, I caught a glimpse of the instrument case I’ve been keeping out of the thoroughfare to keep safe. We wanted very badly to get Sebastian into the band this year, and he was anxious to start, but we could not afford to purchase or even rent a trumpet for him in our current financial situation. One of Mike’s co-workers was awesome enough to let us borrow an old one that one of her family members had used but given up. If we like it, she said, we could talk about purchasing it from her.

He has been doing well at it, and it fills up my heart with warm fuzzies to hear him practicing playing notes and being so interested in the music workbook associated with his lessons. It occurs to me that this is an opportunity that we couldn’t afford to give him on our own, but because someone else was willing to trust us enough to lend this instrument freely, he is learning something new and developing a talent that will be his own. I’m very proud of him and thankful to the person who made it possible.

Sometimes our blessings may be few and far between -but they can be grand when they come.

Leave a Reply

