Religion and politics

I’ve struggled for days over this post, since it is my big 600 (YAY a number that ends in two, count ’em TWO zeros!) and there have been so many personally exciting events to write about lately. I’ll try to recap them… maybe post #1000 will be more poignant.

My education complications have been slowly un-knotting themselves, but I hesitate to go into detail there, lest something unpleasant pop up later and surprise me. Suffice it to say, my worst case scenario at this point will be having to wait until August of 2012 to actually recieve my degree. Considering how uncertain I’ve been in the last 5 years that I’d EVER finish school… this is an ample blessing. Thanksgiving month is definitely filling my cup and then some.

Just for kicks, I started my own online newspaper called The Daily Diamond. Original, I know… but I figured my blog and my paper.li site could easily be linked (this blog will be featured on the paper when I post an entry) and I liked the title enough to use it twice. It’s basically populated with stories I feel are relevant and timely, and at times entertaining. Mostly it’s politics, technology and quirky mom bloggers. If that doesn’t suit your fancy in one way or another… then you must be an alien.

My employment situation has remained relatively stable, if not entirely lucrative. There is a full moon on this horizon, however, in that I just got a position writing for Examiner.com as the spirituality examiner for my local area. This is outstanding, in my opinion, and although I have yet to actually turn a profit it is really exciting to be published by an outside entity (still love you, WordPress & LiveJournal) and start building a portfolio (myRSS feed, anyone?).

Spirituality is something that has always been extremely important to me, and though I sometimes struggle to find time for it I have always recognized my need for a relationship with the divine. I hope that you’ll check out my content, which is currently only one article. You may (or may not) be surprised by the places my writing will eventually go… I hope either way you find it pleasant or uplifting. At the very least, I’ll try and highlight local spots and groups for fellowship with other spiritual folks. It’s hard living in a town with more churches and bars than just about anything else, and keeping your nose out of the broom closet.

Feel free to let me know how I’m doing on all this stuff. Comments keep me excited about producing good content when I feel the urge to just stay in bed and hide from the kids (and work and school) all day.

4 thoughts on “Religion and politics

  1. What is spirituality? Does it involve dead chickens and midnight? If you see one get a name, I want to send some messages via the corporal plane.

    Just kidding. Congrats on the writing acceptance.

    Mom

    Like

  2. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and excellent design and style.

    Like

Leave a Reply

