Rude Awakenings

This year, so far, has been a series of awakenings in many areas… This morning, for example, I was awakened around quarter to 3 am by my husband telling me he had pain in his chest and left shoulder, and that he was going in to the emergency room. The rest of the morning was… less than restful.

A friend was nice enough to take both of my little troublemakers off my hands this morning and I went in to the ER to sit with Mike and wait. We were out by 10:30 or so and went directly to pick up his prescription and get him into his own bed. Now I’m struggling to construct a menu for the week that’s in tune with the nurse’s suggestion to start eating foods with a low glycemic index. I still have to buy groceries to make these meals… and it looks like we’re going to be stretching the budget a bit. Isn’t it funny how we as a country are both unhealthy and unwealthy, but wholesome foods are priced high and prepared convenience foods that you take from the freezer to the microwave are cheap enough to survive on?

Good for the Body - $5
Good for the Budget - $1.88

All this time we’ve been trying to save money by shopping at Aldi’s and keep our grocery shopping at an unrealistically low budget for the week/month. How much has that really helped us when it comes time to pay the hospital bills? When I can’t run and play with my children because my size makes it too difficult, and my husband is worrying about his cardiac health at age 30?

Anyhow, Michael is resting now and I’m preparing for a lot of work in the kitchen and beyond… perhaps we’ll all walk the dog tonight: the whole family could use the exercise.

3 thoughts on “Rude Awakenings

  1. Mary,
    Unfortunately, that is how this country operates. If you want to be healthy you must be wealthy as well. Here is what I have figured out. Look at most of the wealthy people in this country and you will see very fit people look at most of the average joes in this country and you will see people that are struggling to keep weight in check and cannot really afford the grocery budget from week to week if they are trying to eat healthy. Some things that will help. Start clipping coupons and looking for sales. If you have a big freezer buy in bulk whenever possible for as much as you can. sometimes frozen veggies are on sale pretty cheap and while not quite as good as fresh they are better than canned etc. Good luck! I am praying for you all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

