I’m a FrEaK!

I know it.

Just got done watching Peter Pan with Bastian. While this is quite possibly one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE stories, I hesitate to add the description “children’s”, as it is a subtle reminder that I have always been strange.

Jason Isaacs turns me on big time. What is that about? He’s dangerous and evil, but ruggedly handsome. I sound like a smut novel my mother would read. Ugh!

http://www.imdb.com/gallery/ss/0316396/PP_5576D13500017R_rgb.jpg …It’s not so hard to read kinkiness into this fantasy story where a really cute, pure & innocent female longs to give kisses to an elusive boy who won’t commit, finally getting captured and practically manhandled (the whole time wearing only her nightgown) by a towering villain with dark, handsome features and a menacing hook which he brandishes about feverishly.

What’s really interesting to think about is the Peter Pan/Pan the god parallel. I mean, no version of this story ever even hints at precisely how long Peter has lived in Neverland. He could be 60 years old. Even the lost boys have no concept of time or age. Does he really find Wendy with mothering on his mind, or does he have more sinister reasons for hauling her back to fantasy island?

Am I going out on a limb here?

Jason Isaacs is one of my favorite Hooks. Perhaps not THE favorite (I did enjoy the Robin Williams interpretation entitled ‘Hook’ as well) but that is presently up for debate.

I’m only slightly disturbed by this psuedo-revelation. I’ve always felt that Peter Pan was a moderately sexualized fairy tale. Mmmm… More Jason Isaacs… http://www.imdb.com/gallery/ss/0316396/Ss/0316396/5576_D177_00022.JPG?path=pgallery&path_key=Isaacs,%20Jason

I’m off to watch the special features section of this version, directed by P.J. Hogan -Through the Eyes of Captain Hook, “Jason Isaac’s behind-the-scenes hove video footage”! I love DVD’s.

Leave a Reply

